General XMetaL Discussion

XMetaL Community Forum General XMetaL Discussion XFT forms with conditions

• esha

XFT forms with conditions

Participants 4
    Replies 5
    Last Activity 12 years, 8 months ago

Hello all

I am new in XMetal development, and I am new to this forum also.
    So, Hello ALL…..

I am trying to create a customisation using XMetal Developer(5.1) and VS 2008.

I have a requirement to make conditional forms. ie, two forms to be displayed based on some condition for the same element. I need to display the attribute values using XFT forms.

My DTD looks something like this::

A NUMBER #IMPLIED
    B NUMBER #IMPLIED
    C NUMBER #IMPLIED
    D NUMBER #IMPLIED>

Case 1 : XYZ has a form that takes values for A,B,C
    Case 2 : XYZ has a form that takes values for A,D

Is this possible? If yes, how?? If no, what is the alternative?
    Anyone faced this situation? Pleasee help !

Thanks

Derek Read

Reply to: XFT forms with conditions

I guess what you are asking is going to be possible, but I don't see anything that allows a decision to be made automatically here. I don't see a difference between the two cases, there's just one element here.

From what you've got so far I think you'd need to prompt the user to ask them which form they want to display, or create two different forms and a user interface (menu item or toolbar button) that launches each form.

Is that what you are looking for?

Or maybe what you're saying is that if the element has attributes A,B,C set then launch form version 1, and if it has attributes A,D set then launch for version 2. Which form is launched for other cases? Or is this a complete misunderstanding?

esha

Hey Derek, thanks for the response.

I have two different forms for the same element. But, am confused on how to link them.
    I intend to use these forms to populate the attribute values for the same element.

So, in my case 1, XYZ will not have an attribute D and in case 2, it will not have B,C.