DITA and XMetaL Discussion

XMetaL Community Forum DITA and XMetaL Discussion Hello! Why do some SVGs work and not others??

• dlemkuil

Hello! Why do some SVGs work and not others??

Participants 4
    Replies 5
    Last Activity 12 years, 3 months ago

I'm an illustrator trying to get my nice SVG graphics to show up in XMetaL author 5.5 so the writers can see them. My drawing program of choice is Arbortext IsoDraw and the writers have the Adobe SVGViewer installed. For some reason, the SVGs exported from IsoDraw only show a small corner of the graphic, whereas, if I open the SVG in Visio 2003 and then resave it as a Visio SVG, the whole graphic is visible in XMetaL. Is this a schema and namespace issue? The IsoDraw SVGs seem to work in other programs. I'm scratching my head…anyone else have these issues with SVG? I really don't want to add another step in my illustration process.

Derek Read

Reply to: Hello! Why do some SVGs work and not others??

(what is described below is valid up to an including XMetaL Author Enterprise 6.0)

What it comes down to is this:

1) We embed Internet Explorer in DITA documents when we encounter an that looks like it is referencing an SVG file (matching on href=”*.svg”).
    2) The script that embeds IE needs to tell IE where the file is (easy enough) and the size because IE must be told how big to draw itself. IE then loads the SVG and handles it with whatever viewer it has installed, if any.
    3) In order to tell IE how big to draw itself we have a script that opens the SVG file as XML and parses it to extract the width and height attributes from the element. If these are not present then the image defaults to 200px square. The way this script is currently written also assumes these values are set in pixels and that they do not specify the units. If the units are specified then this sizing will also fail as no attempts to do unit conversion have been implemented.

So, something like the following will render at the proper size: