DITA and XMetaL Discussion

XMetaL Community Forum DITA and XMetaL Discussion Disabling some automatically generated strings in CHM output.

• valtteri

Disabling some automatically generated strings in CHM output.

Participants 5
    Replies 6
    Last Activity 13 years, 2 months ago

I would like to disable a few features in my CHM output but I can't quite figure out which files to edit. I'd like to have that automatic labeling and numbering of “figures with title” disabled so that instead of getting for example “Figure 3:

” I'd get only “ “. Also, I'd like to have that automatically generated string “Parent Topic” disabled.

Can anyone help me out here? I think this requires some editing of XSLT but I'd appreciate some help on which files I should edit and how. I'd suppose it takes only commenting a few lines but then again, I'm not an XSLT expert.

Thanks

-Valtteri

Su-Laine Yeo

Reply to: Disabling some automatically generated strings in CHM output.

Hi,

I'm not an XSLT expert either, so please take the following with a grain of salt:

You can use a free text-search utility such as PSPad to search for a particular string in all files in a  folder. E.g. if you're looking for the string “Parent topic” in the Open Toolkit's XSL files, you can use PSPad to search for “Parent topic” in C:Documents and SettingsApplication DataSoftQuadXMetaL SharedDITA_OTxsl and its subfolders.

The search results will include a lot of language files, which you can ignore, and a file called rel-links.xsl. That looks like it's probably the file you're looking for for “Parent topic”, although I haven't tried hacking it to verify.

I think that most of the time, if you see the generated text “Foo” appear in U.S. English output, the relevant XSL file will also include the string “Foo”. In theory, however, you might need to open up the strings-en-us.xml file in order to see whether “Foo” in U.S. English output actually maps to something else in the XSL.