Pages: 1
Print
Author Topic: Reuse a single row from a large table in a different topic? Author Enterprise 9  (Read 65 times)
PhilB

« on: June 28, 2017, 07:58:57 AM »

I'm new to XMetaL and DITA so please forgive me if I'm not providing enough information or asking a question properly. 

I have a few topics in XMetaL that have large tables in them.  I then have separate topics for each of the rows in the large tables.  Is it possible to reuse a single row from the large table and different topic without just copying the row into the other topic?
MarcB

« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2017, 08:32:01 AM »

This is dealt with in the topic "Conref a table row" in the General XMetaL Discussion section of this forum.

It works.

I have found, though, that I need to enter the same number of empty cells to the target row (the one containing the @conref) as there are in the source row (the one containing the @id).
I do that in plain text view.

But that applies to XMetaL 12, so I'm not sure the same holds for version 9.
PhilB

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2017, 09:41:39 AM »

MarcB,

Sorry I didn't see the other discussion when I searched and thanks for your response. 

I forgot to add that we are using SDL Knowledge Center - Publication Manager (12.0.1) with XMetaL Author Enterprise 9.  XMetaL will not allow me to insert a content reference when in plain text view.  It is grayed out.  If I am in normal or tag view it will allow me to insert a conref.  However I am only able to do a table not a row. 

Are you using SDL as well or is your conref going through XMetaL?
Derek Read
Program Manager (XMetaL)
Administrator

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2017, 01:03:54 PM »

The functionality that drives the DITA authoring is effectively disabled in Plain Text view because the APIs required are not available.

You can easily conref to a row from another table just like you can any other element in Tags On or Normal view:

1. Put your selection inside the table you want to add the conref target row to.