Pages: 1
Print
Author Topic: Create toolbar button or macro to go to URL  (Read 4574 times)
meisenman

« on: May 18, 2012, 12:12:55 PM »

Looking for a way to add a toolbar button or create a macro that will open a specified web page.

I'm not an XMetaL expert or a programmer; just a user who wants to make things easier for my colleagues.

Using XMetaL Author 4.6.12.177 (no further description in Help > About or on splash screen).

Many thanks.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 12:32:20 PM by meisenman » Logged
Derek Read
Program Manager (XMetaL)
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 01:38:25 PM »

Do you mean a specific (ie: never changing) web page, or a specified (ie: by the user each time) web page?

Can I also assume you wish their default browser to launch and open the page?
Derek Read
Program Manager (XMetaL)
Administrator

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 01:50:55 PM »

There's an API for that:

//JScript:
Application.ShowPage("strURL");

Where strURL is the page you wish to display.

If the user has never specified the path to a browser (they would need to have selected File > Preview in Browser) then they will be prompted to provide that path when this API is first called. That value is saved in their per-user copy of xmetal##.ini (in your case xmetal46.ini).

Using the Windows Script Host "Run" API:

The alternative would be to "run" the URL and allow Windows to decide which application to launch based on the user's file associations or the format of the URL. It may or may not launch a browser though it should for most people. Example:

//JScript:
var oWSH = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");
oWSH.Run("http://www.xmetal.com");
oWSH = null;
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 02:16:55 PM by Derek Read » Logged
meisenman

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2012, 02:26:26 PM »

Yes, there is a specific, never-changing URL, and default browser would be fine.

URL = http://ussm-infodev2.corp.company.com:8031/termcontribution.html