Pages: 1
Print
Author Topic: Figures not appearing in PDF output, and cross-references rendering gobbledygook  (Read 4592 times)
Chartered Ham

Brevity is the friend of tomorrow

« on: March 06, 2009, 09:27:47 PM »

This is my first post. I'm a relatively new XMetaL user of just over a month. I have over ten years of experience in technical writing working with all kinds of tools (FrameMaker, RoboHELP, WebWorks Publisher Pro, etc.), and I've never experienced something so frustrating as this. I feel as though I'm about to tear my @#$! hair out. It doesn't help that it's Friday night.

The problem is this:

I'm working with a collaborator on a big doc project. This collaborator (who is an engineer) has put a number of diagrams as child topics below certain topics, like this:0

Topic 1 (parent topic)
         Figure 1 (child topic)
         Figure 2 (child topic)

These figure topics took this form:

TOPIC TITLE: Figure Name

The following figure blah blah blah…

[Figure.png]

Not only is making a figure into a child topic generally bad practice, but it's against the conventions of my tech pubs group. I decided it was necessary to make these child topics into reusable components and then link to those components from the parent topic (and then delete the former child figure topics underneath).

I performed these steps for each of the topics:

1. Because my collaborator had left out the figure titles in the child figure topics, I re-imported the image file into the child topic and designated a figure title. (I guess I could have gone into the raw XML and written it in, but I didn't.)

2. I selected the (new) figure title and the figure itself and then created a reusable component. In

3. Finally, I returned to the original parent topic, and inserted links to the reusable components for the figures. I deleted the old Figure 1 and Figure 2 topics, since they were no longer needed.

So the new topic structure was was: