Pages: 1
Print
Author Topic: XMetaL customizing: How to support new image types?  (Read 3345 times)
t3programmer

« on: March 01, 2012, 03:33:10 AM »

Hello,

I am a programmer for an XML authoring system that uses XMetaL as XML editor.

We use the authoring system to produce Web-based trainings that make extensive use of video films.

Currently, we are only using video files that have the file type "swf".

For displaying them in XMetaL, we insert them as images and use the same IE Active X control that is used by the macro "SVG_OnInitialize" of the XMetal standard. For this, the only change we did was to change the function "isSVG" such that it returns "true" in the "swf" case, too. That is, we essentially use the code:

Code:
var ipc = Application.ActiveInPlaceControl;
if ( ipc != null )
{
  //...
  if( isSVG( src ) )
  {
//...
ipc.Control.Navigate2(  "file:///" + ActiveDocument.Path + "\\" + src + fileExt );

Now we want to support additional video types ("flv", "f4v"). These video formats cannot be displayed by the Flash Plugin for IE. However, they can be referenced and displayed by a Flash application ("flvplayer.swf").

Principal approaches that we could think of were:

• Use a different Active X control than IE, or
  • Open the "flvplayer.swf" instead of the image file, passing the image file as parameter, or
  • Create an HTML page on-the-fly and display it with the IE control (see code below, replace **vid location** by the image file).

Code:
    <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="400" height="350"
    wmode="transparent" data="flvplayer.swf?file=**vid location**&autoStart=true">
    <param name="movie" value="flvplayer.swf?file=**vid location**&autoStart=true" />
    <param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
    </object>

How can this be done in XMetaL? Which approach would you recommend?

I am using XMetaL Author Enterprise 6.0. My XMetaL version is 6.0.0.079. I use it on the operating system Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3.