Pages: 1
Print
Author Topic: TOPLEAF: Changing the appearance of Part and Chapter headings in PDF  (Read 4515 times)
awdonald

« on: March 13, 2013, 10:56:25 AM »

I'm fairly new to XMetaL and TopLeaf, so I'm running into a lot of stumbling blocks and having trouble finding the answers in the documentation. I'm using XMetaL Author Enterprise 7.0 and the evaluation version of TopLeaf.

I'd like chapters and parts to use the navtitle value in place of the "Chapter 1" or "Part I" headings displayed when the PDF is generated.

How do I go about doing this?
gjn2066

« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 10:12:28 PM »

I'm assuming you are using the standard DITAmap stylesheet that came with the (TopLeaf) Plugin. This makes several attempts to get the title from various locations, but the number of ways you can specify a title in DITA means that a stylesheet which tried every possibility would be excessively complex.

To try to simplify things a little the stylesheet generates on-the-fly tags (called custom markers). These custom elements actually control the formatting of the titles, so any format changes only have to be made in a single mapping.

What we then need to do is to cause the appropriate elements in the actual document to generate this custom content.

Say you have an element in your DITA map:
   <chapter ... navtitle="My Title">...</chapter>

Then in the chapter mapping, you put the following into the Pre-content box of the Custom tab:
   <Title level="chapter">{@navtitle}</Title>

This causes the text of the navtitle attribute to be rendered as a chapter title.

Let me know if this info was helpful, or send me a more detailed request if it isn't.

Regards,
Geoff
awdonald

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2013, 02:49:39 PM »

Thanks Geoff! Sorry for not clarifying which stylesheet I'm using. I'm using the book stylesheet template that came with the TopLeaf plugin.